To apply for a liquor license, you need to first contact the Nebraska Liquor Control Commission for application materials.
Nebraska Liquor Control Commission.
PO Box 95-46
Lincoln, NE 68509-5046
Phone (402) 471-2571
Fax (402 471-2814
- Complete the application and return it to the NLCC. They will forward the application to our office.
- After we receive the application, we will ask the Board of Commissioners to set a public hearing date to consider your application. We notify you in writing of this request, and the letter will note the date of public hearing.
- When the Board of Commissioners sets the hearing date, you will receive a copy of the resolution setting the public hearing date.
Notification requirementsCertain notification requirements must be met before the public hearing can be conducted. Please be sure to read and follow these requirements before the public hearing.
If you have questions regarding the liquor license application process at the local level, please call 402-444-6764. Other questions should be addressed to the Nebraska Liquor Control Commission.
Liquor License Application Notification Policy
Douglas County Board of Commissioners Resolution Number 2006-375
- When submitting an application, each applicant must submit a list of the names and addresses of all property owners located within 500 feet of the establishment that is the subject of the application. An abstractor registered under the Nebraska Abstractors Act shall prepare the list and certify to its accuracy.
This requirement must be met by:– Each applicant for a liquor license at a new location.
– Each licensee seeking to transfer a license to a new location
– Each licensee seeking to add to a licensed premises.
– Each licensee seeking to upgrade the retail privileges permitted by the current license.
- The applicant shall notify, in writing, each of the property owners on the Abstractor's list about the date, time and location of the County Board hearing on the application. This written notice shall be provided to the property owners no less than 10 business days in advance of the hearing.
- Before the date of the County Board hearing on the application, the applicant shall submit to the County Board a notarized sworn affidavit stating that the applicant has provided to each of the above-referenced property owners the required written notice of the hearing.
- The applicant shall also post a written notice on the premises to be licensed advising the public of the application and the date and time of the public hearing before the County Board. This notice shall be posted no less than 10 business days in advance of the hearing.
- The applicant shall bear all costs necessary to comply with this policy.
The above resolution was approved by the Douglas County Board of Commissioners on June 20, 2006, and is effective for all applications considered after that date.
The public information contained herein is furnished as a public service by the Douglas County Clerk's Office. The Douglas County Clerk's Office makes no warranties, either expressed or implied, concerning the accuracy, completeness, reliability, or suitability of the information for any other particular use. Furthermore, the Douglas County Clerk's Office assumes no liability associated with the use or misuse of said information.